About Yara

2008: Yara Catalyst Wins Environmental Award

Yara’s nitrous oxide abatement catalyst, which significantly reduces greenhouse gas emissions from industry, has been awarded a prestigious Norwegian environmental prize, "Glassbjørnen" (The Glass Bear).

Norway’s Crown Prince Haakon presented the “Glassbjørn” awards at a ceremony in Oslo on November 6. Yara won the Prize of Honor, as well as being a product finalist, in the 2007 awards organized by GRIP, the Norwegian Foundation for Sustainable Consumption and Production.

The Glassbjørn jury described Yara’s de-N2O catalyst as an “especially significant and worthy contribution to advancing environmental efforts,” emphasizing its importance in the fight against global warming. The technology’s effectiveness also impressed the jury, which noted that: "Implementation is possible in both new and older factories at low investment cost, without negative impact on production, new risks, or other environmental emissions."

A 10-year R&D effort by the Yara Research Center at Porsgrunn led to Yara implementing the catalyst technology, which reduces N2O emissions from industrial plants by 70-90 percent, in its own plants in 2005. It is now in place at eight Yara plants in Europe, and is being introduced in other Yara facilities around the world.

By the end of 2008, the catalyst was due to reduce Yara's N2O emissions by 5 million tons of CO2 equivalents annually, achieving a 25 percent reduction of the company's greenhouse gas emission level in 2004.

The de-N2O catalyst has also been made available to the chemical industry through a licensing agreement with Johnson Matthey Plc, and is being implemented in 23 Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) projects around the world, including 18 factories in China.

We use cookies on this website. If you continue to use the site without changing your settings, you agree that we may store and access these cookies on your device. To understand more about our use of cookies and to change cookie settings at any time please see
Cookie Preferences
I accept cookies