Coffee beans

Yara Prize 2013: nomination process is open

Oslo, February 07, 2013
The nomination process for the Yara Prize 2013 is now open. This year the Yara Prize will have a specific focus on young women and men who are making a particular effort within agriculture, paying special attention to innovation and entrepreneurship.
workers in Kenya

The Yara Prize aims to contribute to the transformation of African agriculture and food security within a sustainable context, thereby helping to reduce hunger and poverty.

The nomination guidelines are published on the web and include information on eligibility, nomination criteria and evaluation. The deadline for nominations is May 3, 2013.

The winner is chosen by the Yara Prize Committee, which consists of experts in agriculture, and receives USD 60,000, a trophy and a diploma.

The Yara Prize was established in 2005 as a direct response to the former UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan’s call for a green revolution in Africa in 2004. Since then, the Yara Prize has been awarded to ten individuals and one organization, representing eight countries in total, for their outstanding efforts in transforming African agriculture and assuring food security. 

The Yara Prize 2013 will be awarded in Africa in September 2013. The exact date and venue are to be decided.

We use cookies on this website. If you continue to use the site without changing your settings, you agree that we may store and access these cookies on your device. To understand more about our use of cookies and to change cookie settings at any time please see
Cookie Preferences
I accept cookies