Coffee beans

Celebrating the Yara Prize at AGRF 2012

Oslo, October 16, 2012
The African Green Revolution Forum (AGRF) attracted a high-level audience. Celebrating the Yara Prize winners was a definite highlight of the Forum.
Yara Prize 2012

The second AGRF, taking place in Arusha, Tanzania, on 26-28 September 2012, proved to be a collaborative meeting place for a massive audience of about 1,000 people, all in search of opportunities and development within the African agricultural sector.

Hosted by the Government of Tanzania, both President Kikwete and his Minister of Agriculture, Christopher Chiza, were present. 

Dr. Eleni Gabre-Madhin

A range of awards was presented at the State Gala dinner at the event. Following prestigious awards presented by the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), the Yara Prize was introduced as “The Grand Prix” of the evening.

“Tonight is a very special occasion. We bring the Yara Prize home – to Africa. It is the very first time the prize is awarded on African soil – where it truly belongs. Please, welcome on stage our honorable laureates, minister and Dr. Kalibata and Dr. Gabre-Madhin,” said Yara’s CEO and President Jørgen Ole Haslestad as he announced the two winners.

Dr. Agnes Kalibata

The audience also warmly welcomed world-known African artists Eric Wainaina from Kenya and Oliver Mtukudzi from Zimbabwe, contributing greatly to a festive atmosphere.

The predecessor of the AGRF was Yara’s series of African Green Revolution Conferences (AGRC), held in Oslo, Norway, from 2006-2008. In 2009 the Yara Prize was presented at an intermediary seminar in Oslo while the 2010 AGRF was still being planned.

Read more on the Yara Prize Winners here: African female leaders awarded the Yara Prize

We use cookies on this website. If you continue to use the site without changing your settings, you agree that we may store and access these cookies on your device. To understand more about our use of cookies and to change cookie settings at any time please see
Cookie Preferences
I accept cookies